RSS

The Adventure Starts Here

24 Sep
Wow this has been such an amazing week. Okay so I will answer all of the questions first. Yes I am in Vancouver right above Portland Oregon. It actually reminds me exactly like Alaska becuase we are right by the Columbia River and it’s rainy and cold almost every single day. I really like it though because of the fact that it’s just like Alaska. Okay so my companion is Elder Snow. He is from Farmington Utah. He has only been out 3 months and he is a stud. Basicaly right when he was done being trained I came in and now he is training me. I like to call ourselves the shot gun companionship because we are both so young. So funny story, the day of transfers after my 4 hour drive to the other side of the mission from the tri-cities to Vancouver I saw evey different climates that are in the mission. Dry, farmland, mountains, and rain. Its very green here. I love it but we all have to be taking Vitiman C pills so that we don’t start feeling depressed and what not because there is not much sun. So guess who my district leader is! The one and only Elder Petterson from V2. How funny is that. When I got out of the car to meet all the elders here he was like Spencer Hansen what are you doing here. He was way excited to see me. Our teaching pool is growing every day. At the moment we are really trying to gain the members trust so that we can get as many referals as possible. We are on bikes right now, but we do walk a lot just so that its easier to talk to people as we go from place to place. My second day we had a total of 29 oyms which was a really good day. Its getting easier to talk to people but I know I couldn’t do it without our Father In Heaven. He has helped us in so many ways. So we get fed each and every day here from different members in the ward. Its crazy how much we are fed. I am slowly meeting more and more members but there are so many. Oh actually there is a family here that we had dinner with last night by the name of McKell or something like that. He grew up in Valencia and his dad is on the high council so I think we all should know him. He showed me a picture of the dad and I remember him. So maybe dad knows him. Apparently his mom knows you mom because she was on camp committee one year so there you go. So the other day we tracted into a Russian family and at first he kept telling us that he doesn’t know any good english and so we handed him a card that gives an explanation in Russian of who we are and what we are teaching and then all of a sudden as we kept asking more and more questions and more and more english kept coming out. So we set another day to go by and on Saturday we got to teach him a little about the Book of Mormon and what it’s all about. He knows just enough english to get by but we are looking for someone in the ward/stake that speaks Russian to help us because it’s really hard to explain some things with him. We hope to get his whole family involved in the lesson because they speak perfect english so that will help as well. So the first day in the mission home when we first got there we had meetings all day. We all got interviewed by the president and then we went to the mission home and had a really good dinner that Sister Greer made for all 25 of us. It was quite an amazing time. They are so nice and they really took the time for each and every one of us. So tell Abby that I did the Elf thing with my trainer and he loved it. I actually met my grandpa and great grandpa as well. They are really good missionaries and I am excited to get out there. Oh before I forget we are also teaching an investigator by the name of Rick and he is amazing. He has been an alcoholic for most of his life and the missionaries before me have got him from drinking a gallon a day to a cup a day. Then me and Elder Snow have helped him as he went cold turnkey a few days ago and you can really tell a differnce when he is sober or not. I am so happy for all of the things that Heavenly Father has given me. I hope this is enogh detail for now. I think one question that is left is The AP’s have a town home that they live in full of beds so that is where most of us slept that night. Some others went to some members home and the sisters stayed at the Presidents home. I live in an apartment its just me and elder snow and its nicer then my apartment up at school. I was really impressed. So I love you all and I am so grateful for all the support you give me. Love you so much. 
 
Elder Hansen
 
P.S. We’re not in a hurry why is he eating so fast look at him! ( cab driver from china trip.) (Idiot Abroad) 
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 24, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
