RSS

Week 28

12 Mar

Hello from Pasco,

This week has been very rewarding for me. We were able to find 2 new investigators as well as teach a lot of lessons. We have been going around this week meeting with a lot of the members in the wards we serve to do a visit I like to call Flood the earth with the Book of Mormon. We are responding to the 70’s cry of getting the members involved in missionary work. We are showing the Mormon Message from Elder Holland on Joseph Smith and the Book of Mormon. We talk about the elect. In D&C 29:7 it defines our role as missionaries and what an elect is. We talk about the power that the Book of Mormon brings. The Holy Ghost accompanied by the Power of the Book of Mormon and a strong testimony are our best tools as missionaries to use in finding the elect. We know they are out there. We are teaching the members the different ways that we use to give someone a Book of Mormon. I can testify of the amazing power that comes from reading the Book of Mormon. It is the most correct book on earth and really does have the fullness of the everlasting gospel. I know this to be true with all of my heart. I am so blessed to be here on a mission at this time in this part of the Lord’s Vineyard. I am still in awe of the fact that He actually trusts us to do his work. He can do a way better job, yet He knows the importance of this calling and all that is contained with this sacred calling.

It was so funny, now that you mention it, yesterday and the 9 hours of church we have on Sunday I was thinking about Principle 2 of Lesson 1 (look it up and study it) I was thinking about the different traditions we used to do as a family that helped us be unified in the gospel. I was thinking about the drives we used to take all the time. How we used to listen to the tapes of the scriptures and also the tapes of the kids in the tree house. (can’t quite remember what they were called). In one of the ward councils yesterday we were talking about this new training dvd thing that the church has just put out. I don’t know if dad has it yet but I am sure he does. It is about the blessings of the Priesthood and how that can bless so many people. We were watching it and it came to how the priesthood can bless your family. The bishop then talked about how he always likes to spend individual time with his kids and just be able to talk. I then remembered when dad would do that and how us kids would dread that moment. He talked about how it should never be a time for a worthiness interview, it is a time to help love and encourage. I then thought about how this was the same with dad. We were able to talk freely and there were no judgments in them. Pure love like our Savior Jesus Christ.

We are so blessed to know who our savior is and what He really did for each of us. My favorite time of the week really is sacrament meeting now. I love it because I can sit, think of others, feel peace (and on a mission it’s sometimes really hard to find that through the stress of the calling). I can worship our Savior freely and know that He truly is listening. I was thinking about how much I have learned on my mission, yet I know nothing. It’s the weirdest feeling in the world but it’s too true as people say, “the more you know the less you know when it comes to the gospel”. I am so grateful for all of the many blessings that come from obedience to the covenants that I have made.  It wouldn’t of taken me 19 years to have some understanding of what all this really means.

We are teaching a lot of part member families right now which is quite an awesome experience. This should be the main focus in missionary’s work because you already have the support of a loved one right there with you. We found 2 new investigators this week through part member families. Its crazy yet amazing how the spirit really works through you and others to soften the hearts of so many people. One of my new favorite scriptures is in Alma 13:27.  I think that’s the verse. It talks about how angels are softening the hearts of the people in our land at this time. They will be ready to hear the gospel. It’s such a blessing to see the power of prayer. We get to see so many miracles each day through prayer. We pray to know who we can see, feel the prompting, go and they are actually wanting a spiritual message and then to see the spirit works its magic in their hearts to accept this gospel. Prayer really does work and I know that to be true. When you pray He really does listen.

Sounds like all is well at home. One thing that impressed me is that you actually did something different for your date night. I bet that was a lot of fun. It sounds fun. Looks like when I get home we will be going strait to the big show. That story you told me about was awesome! I can’t believe they ran into someone from the play. I hope something amazing comes from it. I am also proud of that missionary who opened his mouth to proclaim the gospel to everyone and had the amazing blessing that came from it. Looks like I am going to be an uncle here real soon. Its such a weird feeling to me ha but I am excited. Oh funny story.  I was talking to one of the members of the ward about what he did for work. He said he was an accountant. I was like, “Oh that’s awesome — my dad is one too.” Then he asked if my dad worked for one of the big 4 and I said he did at one point. He then kept digging to find out where dad actually worked and I said that he worked for Disney. ( I don’t tell many people where he works because then they ask for free stuff and what not) He was like oh thats awesome. He then told me about when he was at BYU he had a man come form Disney to talk in one of his classes. I then remembered when dad did that a few years ago and started to freak out inside. He then asked if he was part of the internal audit department and I said yes. He then said that I needed to tell dad that he wants his job because its the coolest job in the world. hahha it’s such a small world. Dad talked to someone who I then met on my mission.

Well times running out. I have to still write President Greer.

Love you all thanks for all of the prayers and support I really do feel it

Loved Elder Hansen W.K.M… (for now)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 12, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
