RSS

Week 35

30 Apr

Hello form Pasco Washington,

So this week has been so amazing. I would first like to express how much I love my Savior Jesus Christ and how grateful I am for the Atonement that He gave to each of us here on this earth. I know now more the ever the truthfulness of this gospel and how much it changes peoples lives. The other day we had a few hours of no appointments which happens about every day haha. So we like to do different ideas of finding. I was going through the area book the night before and saw that we had a stack of about 20 different families who were dropped for one reason or another. So we decided that we were going to work down that list and see if we could restart the fire within some of the people.

We stopped by a members house to see how they were doing and to get an appointment with them to do a member visit to help them get more actively involved with missionary work. When we were walking up to the house we decided to first stop by the house right next door to them who were some former investigators. We went and knocked on the door and a man in his early 30s answered the door. We started talking and were started to get to know him. We could sense right away that something was wrong. He didn’t really want to talk, but he said that he had missed his mens group the night before so and he said that he could use a little ministering to hear the word of God. So we kept talking to him at the door and we found out that his wife had just up and left him the day before and that he had to now take care of his 3 little kids. Its was so sad, yet we knew that we could help in some way. He said that the didn’t have much time to talk because he needed to clean his house because he was having his family come over later that night and he had a lot of work to do. So we asked if we could help him clean his house which I guess was the right question because sure come on in! I guess he had never had anyone ask if they could help clean his house. So we spent the next 2 hours helping him clean his house and just listening to him as he told us everything that was on his mind and how he had no idea what to do. We stopped cleaning and just started talking. We talked about how prayer is going to be the best thing he could do at this time. We testified about how prayer will help him and all he needs to do is ask God what He wanted him to do. We told him that he needed to pray for guidance on the things that he needed to do to help him and his family in this trying time. Right when we said that the spirit hit him like an ton of bricks and you could just tell. He started to tear up and he said hold on one minute. He then wrote that down on a piece of paper and then started to really ponder on the words which he taught. We then prayed with him and he said that we could come back in a few days if we wanted to! We were so overcome with joy because he had had a mighty change of heart. Right before we left he said that 2 months ago he would not have let us in the door. Oh how the spirit can really help someone have a mighty change of heart.

So thanks for getting my personal driving record in!! Right before we got to the library we got a message form Elder Cockerhem informing me that I was the one to be doing the driving! I think Elder Crewse was really happy about that Ha. So about the pictures. I tried to send them last week but something went wrong I guess and they would not connect to the computer or something. I will try again but I can’t make any promises. I might just have them printed out and mailed home if it doesn’t work.

Sounds like Abby is quite the performer! Good for her! I am glad that one of us here in the family was able to make it in the big times of show biz. I tried one and had all of my hopes and dreams crushed by a devastating rejection by the elementary school haha. But we all press on and endure and grow and change.

I got the package you sent and the jam came safe and sound haha. Sister Knight thought it was funny that you sent me jam but hey it’s amazing so I don’t know what she is talking about haha. I told her she needs to try it and that they could have as much of it as they want. I hope they do. They spoil us so much its not even funny. We are so blessed to be here in Pasco. Oh and the conference CDs are the best. I think that they are a good way to end the day after planning.

So the weather here is very close to California. Very dry, very hot, but on top of that its very windy. So much wind it’s out of control. Apparently that is why this area is so fertile. The wind just blows all the good stuff around and then things grow. That is what all the farm people tell us. I think mom would love it here actually because the crops are starting to grow and its all rolling hills and tons of fields everywhere. Its awesome.

Well I don’t know what more to say for this week. I love you all and I know that this is the Lords work!!

Love Elder Hansen WKM

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 30, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
