RSS

Week 39

01 Jun

Hello form Pasco!

Sorry you didn’t get an email yesterday. The libraries all over the United States were closed due to the three day weekend. So this week has flown by that is for sure! It was funny yesterday — we were about to head out to go to work right after our P-Day was over and the Knight’s were having a bunch of people over for a bbq and what not. So as we were walking out Brother Knight saw that Elder Crewse had a few letters in his hand that he was going to put in the mailbox on our way out. He said “Elder Crewse you pulling any mail out of the mail box lately?” I quickly answered and said “yes at least 1 letter a day” ha they thought it was funny. Then Sister Knight said that she was very upseat at her son who is in North Carolina on his mission because he didn’t write her this week and she told us never to miss a week writing your mother okay! We then explained that He couldn’t Email today because all of the libraries were closed and she had a stunned look on her face and then she said, “that’s right, I totally forgot about that… now I am going to have to take all that back about what I said to him haahahha” it was funny! It was a very funny conversation. So I am glad you didn’t send an angry letter about how I need to write you more often.

Guess what!? I got to hold a chicken for the first time in my life! It was awesome. Apparently having chickens as pets is normal up here in Pasco because it seems like a lot of people have them here — people who live in neighborhoods  just like ours at home. So I thought to myself, I need to hold a chicken because I have never done that before! I took a picture with it and whenever you send my 1st sd card back i can send this new one down!

The work here is going amazing. We have been doing a lot of finding this week. We are looking for people who actually are ready to hear what we have to say. I know they are out there we just need to find them!

That is exciting that graduation just happend. Everyone here is ramping up for it as well. To tell you the truth I don’t remember ever being that excited about gradutiaon. I was just happy school was over… ha. But anyways the work goes on.

Sorry about my email this last week. I guess I need to explain what everything means and what not. So I will do better from now on. I am so grateful for everything that I have been blessed with here on this earth. I am so grateful for the knowledge that I have a Father in Heaven who loves us and wants us to be successful in this life.  He has given me such an awesome family who stays strong in the gospel and truly loves one another. Keep up the good work everyone at home. Go out and open your mouth and share the gospel with everyone that you meet.

Congrats Maddy on getting into jazz choir that will be way fun for you and haha you have to stay until 3… take some fun classes like art or something like that.

Love Elder Hansen

 

Letter written to his dad:

http://www.lds.org/pages/mormon-messages#forgiveness-my-burden-was-made-light. This is the story I think you were talking about. I have it as one of my Mormon Messages on the dvd that you sent me! It’s way good. I need to read the story when I get home. I have a growing book list of things I need to read when I get home. Like all of the apostles books and so on. That will keep me busy for a while.

So this week has been very very interesting. It is such a blessing to be able to help so many different misisonaries and members and most of all investigators in this area.  By the end of this transfer I would have spent just about 6 months here in Pasco and it’s been the best ever. It’s given me a lot of time to find people and also fall in love with the people that I serve.

I had an amazing experience the other day when I was on an exchange with Elder K — one of the members of the district. He only has a few weeks left until he goes home and he was having a hard time with that. So he asked me what he could do to be better. I thought to myself, “really, you are one of the best missionaries ever — you are doing everything you can do to be the best”. So I thought to myself some more and asked what he thought he struggled with. He talked about his prayers and how he felt like they could be better. As he said that I thought about a scripture in the New Testament that has been on my mind a lot lately. It’s when Jesus Christ is teaching and he talks about how when we serve ourselves and think of ourselves and do everything that we can do to help ourselves we will lose ourselves — but when we lose ourselves in the work and name of Christ we will find ourselves. I have been thinking about that and so I then talked about how I struggle with my prayers at times but how when I feel my prayers are the best is when they are all about other people. It must of hit him hard because he said you know what Elder Hansen you just answered the question I have had for a long time. It’s such a blessing to be able to help others in so many different ways.

The Lord  will always provide a way for us to get His work done and I know that to be true. When we heed the call and take up the cross and walk in his way we will be able to be found spotless at the last day. So the question I ask everyone is, what is it that you can do to better pick up the cross and walk in the Savior’s foot steps.

Love Elder Hansen

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 1, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
