RSS

Week 50

12 Aug

Well it’s nice to hear form the Family again! I am glad to see that all is well at home.

Here are some things that I have learned this week. I was studying the other day in the New Testament in the book of John. I was looking up scriptures to help me teach about our life on earth, our purpose and God’s purpose for us. I looked at John 17:3, “And this is life eternal, that they might know thee the only true God and Jesus Christ, whom thou hast sent.” This scripture really stood out to me more than any other that day and actually all week. I had been really thinking about this scripture and its true meaning. I thought about what it takes to truly know someone. It takes time effort and work. I thought about if you were to gain a full knowledge of our Savior Jesus Christ what that would mean and do for you. I thought about when you come to know our Savior more fully in your life what that would lead you to do. Well then I was impressed with the idea of how the spirit is going to then testify of Him and cause everyone and anyone to then follow Him. I thought that was so interesting. I then thought about all the things that he taught us and what he asks of us to do. He taught His gospel. We then, if we truly come to know Him, would live that gospel to the best of our abilities what blessings would follow from that. Eternal Life and Exaltation. This Scripture then blew my mind. Its simple, We truly come to know Heavenly Father and Our Savior Jesus Christ and we will inevitably follow his teachings and then endure to the end and be saved. What an amazing blessing that truly his. This scripture then put a whole new spin on our purpose as missionaries. “Our Purpose is to invite others to come unto Christ by helping them receive the restored gospel through faith in Jesus Christ and his Atonement, Repentance, Baptism, receiving the Holy Ghost and enduring to the end.” (PMG) So what we do is guide people to come to know our savior for themselves and then they will inevitably accept his restored gospel. So we need to get them to that point. Knowing Our Savior Jesus Christ.

So this week we went to a baptism of a 18 year old that we interviewed for baptism. She is so cool. She had been investigating the Church for over a year and a half and would not get permission from her parents because she was not old enough yet. She turned 18 on friday and that was the day she was baptized! What an amazing example of faith and love for our Savior right there. While I was sitting in the congregation as the meeting was taking place I was once again pondering on John 17:3. Then another thought came into my head. I was brought back to a zone conference that we had while I was in Pasco. The zone conference was titled “Its all about HIM”. The Greers at the time had just come back form there mission president seminar and they talked about how Elder Holland, a member of the quorum of the 12 apostles, attended that seminar that they taught us about the training that he gave them on the Gospel of Jesus Christ. The Greers then pulled out a chalk board and asked us what the Gospel of Jesus Christ was. We all obviously said a huge list of things. The Greers then added there testimony of the Gospel of Jesus Christ and then said what the Gospel of Jesus Christ really truly is. Elder Holland then said that the Gospel of Jesus Christ is all about Him because the gospel is Him. As the Greers taught this I knew it was true, but it didn’t really hit me too deeply then. But while I was at that baptism I had the spirit teach me a thing or two about how it is Him, and it truly is. The Scriptures are all about Him, They are nothing but his teachings and how when people follow them they are blessed and when people don’t follow they are not blessed. Its simple. When we come to know him, We will be living the his way, and all of his teachings.

So that is one of the big takeaways from this week. So some other news. We just received our transfer calls this week. I will be staying obviously because elder Paxman flies home tomorrow, its way sad I hate having to kill people. I will be receiving a new companion and his name is elder Hatch. I think he is from logan utah, I have never met him before but I know that he is an amazing missionary. We also found out that our area is getting split. So now we will only be covering 1 ward, the meadow springs ward! I am so excited. I we finally get to really work with the ward on a deeper level and really help them with there missionary work. We are very exciting. Elder Tays will be in the Willowbrook ward working with a missionary who I don’t know at all. I know they will do an awesome job.

Thanks so much for all the letters from the family. Its nice to hear from yeah once and a while. Looks like JMD3 is growing up real fast and is having a blast in California. I hope the dogs are doing well also. That I do miss a lot. The dogs. I meet quite a few dogs, but must of them just bark at you all day long and try and bite your leg off any time they get the chance so its not as fun. Well that is all I have from you this week I guess.

Love Elder Hansen WKM

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 12, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
