RSS

Week 64

21 Nov

Hello from Richland,

Elder Heldt and I have had a very good week and a lot of very spiritual experiences, but first I am so happy to see that Jeff is really doing awesome and has found a fellowship. I can’t believe Alison is going to live up there. She and the cold don’t get along that well ha. It’s also cool to see the family grow and progress. I am very excited to see what life has for the younger sisters as well. When does Maddie start applying for school and what not. She has no need to worry about getting in to BYU because there is no one there anymore. Everyone left on a mission so they are taking just about everyone. It also sounds like everything at home is normal. So by the looks of it everyone and their dog knows about the move. I have already received some letters about it. I hope everyone is taking it okay.

I am glad to see that you got Sister Ostlers email. Yes, they are an awesome family and they have three boys still at home with them. They are really good kids and they are really fun to be around. Yeah, Christmas in a home might be nice. We will see. To be honest Christmas is just another day here in the mission. You just spend the whole time with members of the wards. Oh about the missionaries and the dinner. They will live. That has happened to us a bunch of times and so they will be fine. It’s sometimes nice not to have a dinner. You get to go home and have something simple and get everything in order for the rest of the night.

We are teaching some really awesome families. We are setting goals to have all of these people baptized and I feel like I am praying for them all of the time. I really love my mission. It’s crazy to think how fast it’s going. I just received an email from my roommate Jake who is serving in Russia. He goes home in 3 weeks. It’s crazy really. He will be the first and then a few more will follow and then it will all be over. But I still have plenty of time and I am happy about that. Lots of time left to serve the Lord and help him with his work.  The work of salvation.

We had MLC (Mission Leadership Conference) this last week. It was an awesome meeting. We learned a lot. I feel like I am always learning something new each day. President Ware taught about how we need to have a higher expectation. We need to have more faith and trust that He will help us get His work done. We are seeing some amazing things in the stake. We received news a few weeks ago that we are having another mission tour this week. Elder Kent Richards of the 70 is coming this week to meet with us. We are so blessed to have another general authority come and speak to us. Elder Heldt and I are being blessed to be able to meet with him on three separate occasions this week. Let me tell you everyone in the tri-cities are going crazy on missionary work. All of the ward leaders here are on fire. They are starting to really feel the fire and are excited to go out with us and help us with any and all the needs we have. They are trying as hard as they can to find people for us to teach.

We were called the other day by some members in the ward and they had a friend there that had a family member in the hospital that needed a blessing. We told them that we could go and help. So we drove down to the hospital in downtown Richland and we met the member family. They took us to the ICU unit. So this was my first time going to the hospital to give a blessing and what an experience it was. I can tell you that being a missionary in a hospital is an amazing experience. Elder Heldt and I both felt that the veil was very thin. We both knew that there was more then just us in that building. Comforting, Helping, Loving and watching over. We could literally feel it. We were both tearing up the whole time. As we were heading up to the ICU Unit we met another member who asked when we were done with the one blessing if we could go a few doors down to visit with her husband. We of course agreed to do so. So we walk into the first room and met the family — they were awesome. We gave the woman a blessing who had not woken up form an intensive surgery. The spirit was very strong. Tears were flowing all through the room. It was amazing. We then went down the hall and met the next family. It was a man who had failing kidneys and some other issues. He was awake and was so happy to see us there. He lives in Hermiston just on the other side of the River in Oregon. We talked with him for a while and then he and his wife asked for a blessing. We were happy to give them one. We then visited for a little while longer and then they got word that he was going to be moved to a room on another floor because he had become stable. He and we were happy about that. So on our way out we got stopped by some members of the family who we had given the first blessing to. They wanted a blessing as well. So we found a nice quite room and helped them. It was awesome. Elder Heldt and I both went out of that experience with an added testimony of the power of the priesthood. We were taken back at how God truly watches over everyone in this life. He loves each and every one of us. We are so blessed to be part of this plan. We all are. It’s an amazing experience I hope I will never forget.

Well, I think thats all I have for this week. I love you all.

Elder Hansen.

Oh and mom. I guess I have thought of a few more things for christmas. A watch. The watch I have is awesome, but the band keeps breaking so I am just going to wait until I get home to get it fixed with the right band.

 

Spencer and the Mission Leadership Council. The couple in the middle are his mission president and the mission president’s wife.

Nov 2013+Sr Nov2013-silly-2 Nov2013-silly-3 Nov2013-silly Nov2013

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 21, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
