RSS

Week 67

11 Dec

Hello from Richland Washington,

This week has been an interesting one to say the least. So I guess I will start from the beginning. We had interviews with President Ware this last week. It was good, I just realized that I need to be so much better from it. It was one of those lovingly rebuking type. The best part is that President Ware didn’t really even rebuke me. Just a lot of inspired questions that got me thinking about where I am and where I need to be. So now it’s time to grow more and try my best to become like my Savior in every possible way. It’s been tough, but I know with my Savior’s help anything is possible.

It sounds like there is a lot of things going on at home.  We had MLC on Friday. It was a very spiritual experience for me as always. We talked about the 4 Essential Truths and how these 4 things resolve any and all concerns that we as children of God face in this life. I am grateful for the opportunity we had to then practice with each other on how to teach simply and to teach by the spirit. It was a really good learning opportunity for me. I am slowly learning what it’s going to take to always have that spirit with me. It’s going to take more time really working at it to get it down. We have been able to put it to the test more.

We received a call on Thursday I think and were asked if we could give a talk in sacrament meeting this Sunday. We accepted of course. I was sad that my streak of not speaking in a Sacrament Meeting was put to rest. I have gone my whole mission without being asked to speak in church. It’s now come and gone at this point. We were asked to just talk on what we feel the spirit wanted us to speak on. So I just started to think about what that might be. We were really busy the rest of the week so I didn’t get much time to prepare. I decided Saturday night that I needed to spend some time pondering on what I needed to speak on. I decided to turn to the power of the Book of Mormon to lead me in the direction that I needed to go. I started reading in 2 Nephi. It was Lehi talking to his son Jacob and also prophesying of Joseph. It was interesting because I only got a few verses in and my mind started to think about the topic of pray — specifically how God still answers prayers. I then felt that that was what I needed to speak on. So I knew from what we have been taught by Elder Richards that I needed to just teach simple truths by the spirit. So that is what I did. It was an awesome experience. It takes a lot of faith, and the reward is much bigger then ever before. I have learned that when we rely on the Spirit, we teach with so much power and authority. I knew that I needed to teach on one of the essentials that Joseph Smith really did see God and Jesus Christ. I felt prompted to tell that story, then to talk about how we can recognize the spirit. I felt that I needed to share Galatians 5:22-23 and also 3 Nephi 11:3. It was an awesome experience. I then bore simple testimony and then closed. I then sat down. For the first time I felt like I didn’t need to say any more. Most times when I give a talk, I would always sit down and think that I should have said this or I should have said that. I felt peace in what I had said.  I felt like I said all that God would have me say.

We are so blessed as missionaries. I am so grateful for the opportunity we have to have this calling. I feel the prayers and know that we are truly being helped. We are watched over by angels. I have felt them in my life here as a missionary. I know that while we may go through hard times, some set backs, God is always with us.

Elder Heldt and have our Christmas cards ready! They will be sent in no time. I hope I can get them to everyone. If anyone wants one, just email me your address and I can get them to you. Thanks Mom for sending me those addresses. I am excited to get them out.

So we have been working with a few families. Elder Heldt and I are always trying to find more people to teach. We have been inviting members to invite their friends on a church tour. We are seeing some good things come from that. We have a family here in the wards we work in seeing some really awesome things come from the invite. The friend is now asking a lot of questions and is asked for a copy of the Book of Mormon. They are working to set up a time for a building tour. We are excited to see the good things that will come from the spirit of the building.

We were able to hold a Zone Leadership Council this week. It was really good. We talked about the needs of the zone, as well as set our goals for the months. We all felt that we needed to focus on teaching simply and helping all of God’s children come to church and feel the spirit in His home. We are really excited to see the miracles that will come forth because of this. We are all seeing some many amazing things coming from this work.

So we were blessed in an awesome way this week. David King (Elder King) came to visit this last week. It was good to see him again. I was really happy that we were able to talk over a nice sub sandwich a few days ago. It was good to here how everyone was doing at home. Elder King was an amazing missionary. One of the best in my books.

Well my time is running out. I hope all goes well this week. Its was good to see some pictures as well. I will send you some as well.

Elder Hansen

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 11, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
