RSS

Week 86

22 Apr

Well this has been good week for sure. I am so thankful for the Atonement. I have grown to love it even more this Easter season. We had some really good sacrament meetings yesterday. We have been in this competition the past few weeks with other parts of the ward singing in primary. It was formed after the March Madness competition and the winner of the competition got to sing with the primary in sacrament meeting. When the primary chorister told us we were part of the competition and that it was rigged so that the bishopric was going to win no matter what — we told ourselves that we were going to not let that happen no matter what. So the word got out each week as we first battled the young men, and then won. The next week we battled the primary and beat them as well and we made it to the finals last week. So we went up against the bishopric and there was a little twist in the contest. We had to sing a primary song while using a nose whistle. We went in first and did amazing. Then the bishopric went in and I guess knew that it was rigged and so they thew the contest and did really bad. So guess what! We got to sing with the primary last week. It was so fun! The primary always treats us like super heroes it’s so funny. The best part was that the primary chorister knew they threw it so he changed the rules and the bishopric had to sing as well. It was so funny. So that was one of the funny things that happened this last week.

So I did get the package that you sent me. It was awesome. Thank you so much. I just need to figure out what I am going to do with all that candy that makes me really sick. I don’t know what it is but the further I have gotten on my mission the more I have realized that processed sugar does not agree with my body all that well. So I have been giving most of it to Elder Walton throughout the day. He loves it. So it seems to be working out really well. I am glad that I got the yo-yo though. I am just going to add that to the long list of random things that I have picked up on the mission. Along with ping pong, doing play by play for basketball, flinging cards across the room and many other things.

So I would not be a very good missionary if I did not follow up to see if you shared that video that I left the link to? I want to hear how that went next week. The church paid for that to be put on the front cover of YouTube for Easter Sunday. I really want to know how much money that would be. The church is really pushing to use the internet and other things to share the gospel it’s so awesome.

So we had a baptism this last week. Actually 2 to be exact. Megan is the 11 year old and I have been able to teach her since I got into the area. I also started teaching Rowdy when I got here and then partway through us teaching him we handed him over to the YSA sisters so that he could have more friends and things along those lines. So we were excited to have those this weekend. I love seeing people enter the waters of baptism. It’s one of the most rewarding things that we have on this earth I feel. We get to be reborn. We get a new start. Each of us have the opportunity to change and be better each week as we do all that we can to remember and follow him.

So we have had a horrible thing happen to our companionship. I am getting transferred. I am so sad, but excited for the change. I am leaving the tri-cities as well. That is another weird thought. I am getting transferred up to Yakamah. Its considered the “Palm Springs” of Washington. I am serving with another missionary from California and he surfs as well so things are looking up! He has been out for about a year I think. I am sad to say goodbye to all of the amazing members that I have had the chance to work with. It will be a good change for me though. Something other then being in the same city for over a year. I feel like I am traveling down to the place of my death. It is so sad to think that so I don’t really think about that. BTW I am sending 2 boxes home. Full of stuff that I don’t need and that is taking up way to much stuff in my bag.

So we had an awesome Easter dinner. There were over 40 people there and that included a former mission president and a member of the temple presidency.  As we were about to leave they requested that we share an Easter message. It was a little intimidating standing in front of all those people talking about our Savior but it was an awesome experience. Those things I will never forget. I always feel the spirit when I talk about my Savior. I love him so much.

I am glad that your talk went so well. I was praying for you. I know you feel like you never do a good job, but you always do. Just remember that comparison is the thief of joy. I am excited to hear that Ella is getting her black belt. Elder Walton is also a black belt. So he was excited to hear you are testing for it.

Well I think that is all this week. Well this is the last time in the Richland BOMB zone.

Elder Hansen

 

DSCN0689

Spencer, Elder Walton, Megan and her family

DSCN0690

Rowdy and Spencer

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 22, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
