RSS

Week 101

04 Aug

I feel like I need to invite the family to do something for the next few weeks for email. I think its awesome the things that are going on at home. But I really would like to hear of the spiritual experiences that you are having throughout the week. The miracles that you saw as you acted in faith. I am curious to see as we pay more attention to these things how much more in occurs. Its really cool to see.

I want to share some experiences that happened this week that helped to strengthen my testimony of the Savior and his restored church. We were talking with the zone this last P-Day about how we need to really make it a goal to talk with more people each day. We set a goal that day that later that week every member of the zone was going to talk with at least 10 people about the gospel. It was really cool as we all went out and talked with everyone we could. So Elder Daw and I made it a point to get it and we eventually got 10 as we went throughout the day. We were just about to head home for the night and we saw a man pulling into his driveway and getting out of his car. So I quickly went over and started to talk with him. He quickly told me that he was not interested in anything that we had to say. I asked a few more questions to see if he just had a bad experience with missionaries in the past of something along those lines. He then just started talking about we were spreading lies and how we needed to stop deceiving people and things along those lines. He tried to tell us that we were saying false arguments about the bible and how everything that we share in a lie and it was made up by Joseph Smith. We were kind of stuck for a little while he went off trying to shake our faith. This is the part that I love. As he was saying all of these anti things the spirit was bringing back to my remembrance all of these truth of the gospel that he did not understand and how they could and were backed up scriptural. We never felt impressed to bash with anyone, but we are reminded by the spirit over and over on how this is true in situations like that. We got a few seconds to talk and we simply testified about the Book of Mormon and how you really need to read it before you try and disprove this message that we share. Elder Daw did an amazing job at that. He was so bold. It felt like what the scriptures say that we are raring young lions teaching the gospel. While we stood there it felt like there was literally and army of angels standing right behind us backing us up. It was an amazing experience. We left knowing that this was true even more then we did before. For anyone to truly know if this is true or not they really need to read the Book of Mormon. Its so important. There is so much power in that book. No matter what the anti people say about it. Its true. I know it with all my heart.

The next day we drove down to MLC. This was quite an emotional one for me. It was my last MLC. When its your last MLC they have you, at the end of the meeting, give your departing testimony. I was so nervous the whole meeting. Its was so good though. We talked about how to work with members more and what role they play in the conversion process. It was a big blessing. Elder Daw and I have felt for a long time that the zone needed to really understand the power of members. We set that as a focus for the zone at the begging of the transfer and we were now able to help the zone take the next steps forward. So the time clicked on and as it came closer and closer to my turn to somehow sum up what my mission has meant to me. It was a roller coaster of emotion. I was sad, happy, full of joy, and so many other things. The spirit was so strong. I walked up and president ware greeted me with a hug and expressed how much he loved me and was so proud of me and then I turned  and looked at all of the amazing leaders of this mission. The Lords WKM. I could not hold back the tears. I testified of our Savior and many other things. I was and is such a privilege to be serving a mission. I has blessed my life in so many ways. I love how this is a living church. The Lord understands that the world is always changing and we are always blessed to have that prophet to tell us what to do when we need to change and withstand the ways of the world. Its amazing. It was sad that I had so say good but to so many of my former companions this last week. I wont see them again before I they get home and we move on to the next phase of our lives. Its crazy. I love this so much.

So later that week we had a zone meeting were we were able to teach and help the zone understand a little better how we can work with members of the church to unite us to the purpose of missionary work. We learned a lot. We have been really working on making the time at dinner a really spiritual experience. We are trying to direct the conversation to the savior and the Gospel and we have had some really spiritual experiences with the members of the church here in Yakima. One I hope I will never Forget. Okay so this is random, but I really need your help. I have somehow lost on of my SD cars with like 500 pictures on it from my mission. I have been looking everywhere for it. I need you all to pray that I can find it because I would hate to lose so many memories if I cant find it anywhere. I am bummed out about that right now. I guess it somehow fell out of my backpack somewhere. I don’t know where. I hope I find it.

We started teaching a new family this last week. The wife in from Colombia and the husband is from Greece. They have quite a crazy story of how they met, but they are awesome. The wife is actually a therapist. When she told us that I thought of Alison and how she does that too. That was cool. They are really funny. The husband when he lived in Greece owned his own restaurant. We are trying to see if he will make us some really good food. I said he would, I hope that is soon.

It sounds like you are having a lot of fun in Orlando. I am glad that you are getting so involved in the ward. That is the best way to transition into a new area. Just jump right in and start serving others. Thats what I have seen has helped. Just move on and help other people. You will begin to love the area in no time.

Elder Hansen WKM.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 4, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
